Happy Birthday to David Gilhooly

David Gilhooly

David Gilhooly

On any given April 15th, many Americans are sweating out last minute tax returns. But my thoughts always turn to my good friend David Gilhooly. He was born April 15, 1943, in the Sierra Nevada foothills of California. A sculptor, painter, printmaker and all-around fine artist, David rose to prominence in the 1960s as a creative force of the California Funk Art movement.

In the late 1980’s, I had the privilege of getting to know David Gilhooly when I worked as his assistant at a printmaking studio in California. In 1999, he shared his ideas with me in an interview for my web site, Art2u. Ten years later, From FrogWorld to ShadowLand: A Conversation with David Gilhooly is still worth a read.

Happy Birthday David!

